We use cookies for statistical purposes.

  • Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • clients(at)lawyersnetherlands.com
  • +31630863933
Our Articles

Holland Double Taxation Avoidance Agreements

Holland Double Taxation Avoidance Agreements

The avoidance of double taxation in the Netherlands

The Netherlands has concluded an important number of double tax avoidance agreements both with EU and non-EU countries. The purpose of these treaties is to eliminate double taxation on earnings produced in the country of origin for the foreign investor and in the country where the business is developed.

The tax treaties signed by the Netherlands allow for a better collaboration between the two countries and create a good and appealing commercial environment. Our law firm in the Netherlands specializes in taxation matters and can help you if you are a foreign investor in Holland who wants to benefit from the provisions of these Netherlands double tax treaties. Our lawyers can also help you open a company in Netherlands.

Advantages for investors in the Netherlands

A double tax treaty is useful for investors who produce income in more than one country. If a tax treaty is in place between their country of origin and the Netherlands, investors can avoid being taxed on income and capital in both countries.

The treaty will specify the manner in which each country may levy taxes. Foreign employees in the Netherlands as well as foreign investors will be affected by these treaties. Those who do not live in the Netherlands but derive income from the country can be eligible for double tax relief and can pay less income tax in the Netherlands.

A double tax avoidance agreement is also beneficial for branches and subsidiaries in the Netherlands. The convention between the two countries will typically allow for a special withholding tax on dividends, royalties and interest.

The consultants at our Dutch law firm can give you complete information about the provisions of these Netherlands double tax treaties.

List of Netherlands double tax treaties

The Netherlands has signed double tax avoidance treaties with the following countries:

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Australian, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Bermuda, BES Islands (the Caribbean Netherlands), Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, china, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan. Kazakhstan, Korea, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, New-Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, the Philippines, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, Uzbekistan, Venezuela, Vietnam, the former Yugoslavia, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

You can contact our law firm in the Netherlands can help you with more information about the legislation for foreign investments and can give you details about the Netherlands double tax treaties listed above. We also invite you to try our Dutch tax calculator, a very easy to use tool, which will show you the taxes you must pay for your company in the Netherlands.

If you need assistance for VAT registration in Netherlands, we can assist you.